GIDForums  

Go Back   GIDForums > Computer Forums > Computer Hardware Forum
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 3.57 average.
  #1  
Old 27-Jul-2003, 16:49
JonBoy420 JonBoy420 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 5
JonBoy420 is on a distinguished road

CD Burner Help - Power Calibration Error....


Hey guys I use Nero 6 ...I was able to burn cd's before but now I keep getting a "power calibration error" and a "calibration area full"....what is this....I did TEST & BURN ...the TEST went fine...but the BURN part failed...my CD Burner is a Philips CDD4801 CD-R/RW
it burns at 8x...also it can read CD's just fine so I doubt its the IDE cables...please if you know how to fix this reply ot email me or AIM me or something! here is my log....when i try to burn a CD....
Attached Files
File Type: txt log.txt (5.9 KB, 2633 views)
  #2  
Old 27-Jul-2003, 17:51
jrobbio's Avatar
jrobbio jrobbio is offline
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Loughborough, England
Posts: 840
jrobbio will become famous soon enough
Hi and welcome to the forum, a quick search found this piece of advice:

POWER CALIBRATION ERRORS ARE CAUSED MOSTLY BY POOR MEDIA. (CHEAP BRANDED CD'S IE. PROMEDIA) - TRY USING A DIFFERENT BRAND (COMPUSA, TDK'S, MEMOREX, SONY) ARE THE BEST BET; DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON CHEAP DISKS - YOULL JUST WASTE THEM.

If everything is to no avail, then maybe a firmware upgrade will do the trick. Have a look at http://www.cdfreaks.com/drive/firmware/574

However, have a look at the last post here before you start messing about with firmware
: http://forum.firmware-flash.com/viewtopic.php?t=8833

Hope this helps.

Rob
  #3  
Old 27-Jul-2003, 17:52
asanthadenz asanthadenz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 86
asanthadenz will become famous soon enough
mmmm
could be one of these faults..

1.Power Calibration Error is because you burner lens is not clean or you use a bad quality blaco cd so try clean your lens with an air cleaner or buy better cds.

2.try using a dfrnt software besides Nero

Hope that helps
  #4  
Old 27-Jul-2003, 21:52
JonBoy420 JonBoy420 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 5
JonBoy420 is on a distinguished road
Ok thx for the advice I will try this out I hope it works....
  #5  
Old 28-Jul-2003, 10:51
JonBoy420 JonBoy420 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 5
JonBoy420 is on a distinguished road
Okay....I tried using FUJIFILM 700MB CD-Rs...and Memorex CD-Rs....and also CD-RWs.....none of these worked but when I do a simulation (test burn) it always goes fine....but when the actual burning starts it always gives me that error....maybe my CD burner is fried...ill have to get a new one...
  #6  
Old 28-Jul-2003, 11:17
jrobbio's Avatar
jrobbio jrobbio is offline
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Loughborough, England
Posts: 840
jrobbio will become famous soon enough
Have you tried cleaning it like we suggested?

Rob
  #7  
Old 28-Jul-2003, 18:24
JonBoy420 JonBoy420 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 5
JonBoy420 is on a distinguished road
I took out my CD Burner but I couldn't take it apart I have to get some tools small enough to unscrew the small screws
  #8  
Old 28-Jul-2003, 20:00
asanthadenz asanthadenz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 86
asanthadenz will become famous soon enough
dfrnt software...nero always gives problems
  #9  
Old 29-Jul-2003, 17:43
JonBoy420 JonBoy420 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 5
JonBoy420 is on a distinguished road
Ive tried EASY CD Creator 5 and RealOnePlayer ...none of these work...
  #10  
Old 07-Aug-2003, 07:09
AngelOfDeath AngelOfDeath is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1
AngelOfDeath is an unknown quantity at this point
Question

I too have the same recorder (CDD4801), using Nero 5.9.something, tried different software and media (using a brand of media i used for years with very few coasters, about 3 in every 100 pack), suddenly i started experiencing the dreaded "power calibration error", usually occuring at the same place on the CD's (getting to 4% write then failing). Now i'm lucky if i can get the drive to even be recognised at all be the PC, 9 times out of 10 the PC won't find it.

I was reading up about similar errors and with Philips' earlier CDD2000 and CDD2600 drives they were often of inferior quality due to operating parts failing inside, giving the same symptoms we're having (Philips are currently facing a law-suit for it), perhaps a similar problem in the cases of these drives? Aparently Philips only stopped producing the faulty drives a year ago, and mine is two years old, maybe this explains the problems you've been having, it certainly makes me wonder!
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Parse error: parse error, expecting `T_STRING' or `T_VARIABLE' or `T_NUM_STRING' in ukrspp21 MySQL / PHP Forum 41 25-Jan-2010 19:51
Please help with cd burner Arohlonem Computer Hardware Forum 5 13-Dec-2003 16:20
Samsung SM-308B Power Calibration Error tonito Computer Hardware Forum 1 22-Sep-2003 11:15
[script] E-mail webmaster error page BobbyDouglas PHP Code Library 0 19-Aug-2003 20:10
CD burner, focus or tracking error ShingoDrrazz Computer Hardware Forum 1 09-Aug-2003 16:26

Network Sites: GIDNetwork · GIDApp · GIDBlog · Learning Journal by J de Silva, The

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 22:59.


vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.