GIDForums  

Go Back   GIDForums > General Forums > Open Discussion Forum
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 08-May-2003, 07:32
JdS's Avatar
JdS JdS is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: KUL, Malaysia
Posts: 3,371
JdS will become famous soon enough
Talking

For the 'Johny English' in you


Can anyone tell me anything about this IP address: 64.38.252.18 ?
  #2  
Old 08-May-2003, 15:10
Garth Farley Garth Farley is offline
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ireland
Posts: 638
Garth Farley is a jewel in the roughGarth Farley is a jewel in the roughGarth Farley is a jewel in the rough
Mmmmm, Natalie

Here's some stuff I "accidentally" came across:
Quote:
TraceRoute to 64.38.252.18

Hop (ms) (ms) (ms) IP Address Host name
-------------------------------------------------------
1 0 0 16 66.46.176.3 -
2 0 31 32 216.191.97.45 pos5-2.core2-mtl.bb.attcanada.ca
3 15 32 31 216.191.65.217 srp2-0.core1-mtl.bb.attcanada.ca
4 0 16 31 216.191.65.173 pos2-1.core2-tor.bb.attcanada.ca
5 16 31 31 216.191.65.243 srp2-0.gwy1-tor.bb.attcanada.ca
6 31 32 31 12.125.142.5 -
7 16 47 47 12.123.5.218 gbr5-p80.cgcil.ip.att.net
8 31 47 31 12.122.11.41 tbr1-p013501.cgcil.ip.att.net
9 15 47 32 12.123.6.33 ggr2-p300.cgcil.ip.att.net
10 16 32 31 209.0.227.77 so-1-1-0.edge1.chicago1.level3.net
11 31 31 31 209.244.8.13 so-2-1-0.bbr2.chicago1.level3.net
12 78 78 78 64.159.1.122 so-0-1-0.mp2.phoenix1.level3.net
13 78 78 78 64.159.3.110 gigabitethernet11-0.hsipaccess1.phoenix1.level3.net
14 94 78 78 63.214.160.130 bgp-cwie-cust.level3.net
15 94 93 94 64.38.252.18 -

Trace complete

Network IP address lookup:

whois whois.arin.net 64.38.252.18:


OrgName: CWIE, LLC
OrgID: CWIE
Address: 1125 E. Glendale Avenue
City: Phoenix
StateProv: AZ
PostalCode: 85020
Country: US

NetRange: 64.38.192.0 - 64.38.255.255
CIDR: 64.38.192.0/18
NetName: CWIE-BLK-1
NetHandle: NET-64-38-192-0-1
Parent: NET-64-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS1.CWIE.NET
NameServer: NS2.CWIE.NET
NameServer: NS3.CWIE.NET
NameServer: NS4.CWIE.NET
Comment: ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE
RegDate: 2000-02-22
Updated: 2002-08-20

TechHandle: RC622-ARIN
TechName: Cadwell, Ron
TechPhone: +1-602-248-4963
TechEmail: hostmaster@cavecreek.net

CaveCreek is a shared server webhosting service. Trying the NameServers, I got
Quote:
Server Name: NS1.CWIE.NET
IP Address: 64.38.192.10
Registrar: TUCOWS, INC.
Whois Server: whois.opensrs.net
Referral URL: www.opensrs.org
OpenSRS is a Tucows sponsered resellers service, and this IP is sitting on their server. So I don't think this Ron is to blame, he only owns the service's domain.

I guess you are being spammed by this address. You're not the only one with this problem, www.geocrawler.com and www.geocrawler.com

I find this address mentioned a bit: wolftam.cavecreek.net, which isn't a URL. The latter article also guessed a woftam.com address, which points to a porn site with services for webmasters. It also contains a whois for this domain.

Garth Farley
  #3  
Old 09-May-2003, 05:28
JdS's Avatar
JdS JdS is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: KUL, Malaysia
Posts: 3,371
JdS will become famous soon enough
Nice work Agent 1½!

No, it was not spam... actually, I rarely get spammed - only because I become ruthless when I get spammed but that's another story altogether...

I was curious because this IP was all over the site yesterday but didn't appear on my usual logs / tracking scripts. I just happen to find it on particular log file but not on the others; so I became curious.

Between your info and the broken Deutsch, can I assume it was an email harvesting bot?
  #4  
Old 09-May-2003, 05:49
Garth Farley Garth Farley is offline
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ireland
Posts: 638
Garth Farley is a jewel in the roughGarth Farley is a jewel in the roughGarth Farley is a jewel in the rough
Ah, it must be a harvester then. The German sites were documenting how they were being spammed by the IP, but it's probably the same IP which harvests too.

GF, aka 001.5
 
 

Recent GIDBlogOnce again, no time for hobbies by crystalattice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How a search engine really works (In english) jrobbio Open Discussion Forum 0 06-Jul-2003 18:13

Network Sites: GIDNetwork · GIDWebHosts · GIDSearch · Learning Journal by J de Silva, The

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42.


vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.