GIDForums  

Go Back   GIDForums > Computer Forums > Computer Software Forum - Games
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 05-Jun-2005, 22:54
Slade Slade is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Slade is on a distinguished road

Infogrames; Silver


I need more then one head on this problem. I'm trying to get the game Silver (by Infogrames) to work for Windows XP. I've ran it in Windows compatibility mode for 95/98/Win ME versions and get the same results. The game starts and I can see the beginning movie and even the main menu. But when I press start, I can hear the beginning music before it tries to switch into the game display mode (I'm guessing it's 256 colors with 640 x 480 resolution for default). To elaborate more on that, when the game starts and while the beginning music is still playing, the black screen flashes like it's changing resolution then freezes. At this point, the music sounds like a broken record and you can tell the program froze solid. Let me know if you guys can help me with this problem. I would love to get this game working again.
  #2  
Old 06-Jun-2005, 03:02
pcxgamer's Avatar
pcxgamer pcxgamer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,171
pcxgamer is a jewel in the roughpcxgamer is a jewel in the roughpcxgamer is a jewel in the rough
If the game it trying to change the resolution and to 256 colors have you try changing your computer to that before you start the game? I have ever tested this and since I don't have that game I'm not able to test it myself. I will see what I can learn. But you may want to try that if you haven't already.
__________________
If builders built buildings the way programmers wrote programs, then the first woodpecker that came along would destroy civilization.
  #3  
Old 07-Jun-2005, 00:36
Slade Slade is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Slade is on a distinguished road

tried that.


Yeah, I've tried that except the 256 colors idea. I have a GeForce FX5700 Ultra as my video card. Although, It doesn't support 256 colors. The lowest setting is 16 bit which should work I would imagine. One of the "readme" files says to set your video card to 256 colors if you experience any kind of graphic issues since this software has been known for not supporting some graphic cards at that time. I was thinking that I might have to buy a video card old enough to support this feature. You would think that these newer video cards would have some type of programmed feature built into the card that would take care of this kind of problem automatically. I hope there is an idea out there that could possibly get around this problem..

Also.. I have used DosBox and VDMS (VDMS being an answer from one of the older forums that I've found) and both didn't work. I'm still trying to get DosBox to work though.
  #4  
Old 11-Jun-2005, 01:51
Slade Slade is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Slade is on a distinguished road

DOSbox


Well, I was able to get Dosbox working on my machine. When I run silver.exe in DOSbox, a message comes up saying it's a Windows 95 CD and that's it. Anyone familiar with DOSbox that can tell me what I need to do after this?
  #5  
Old 11-Jun-2005, 03:03
pcxgamer's Avatar
pcxgamer pcxgamer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,171
pcxgamer is a jewel in the roughpcxgamer is a jewel in the roughpcxgamer is a jewel in the rough
I found this site that may be of some help click here I'm not totally sure and you will have to test these I would suggest after you download them and before you click on them to scan them for virus. But it looks like there are some patch there that may help
__________________
If builders built buildings the way programmers wrote programs, then the first woodpecker that came along would destroy civilization.
  #6  
Old 30-Jun-2005, 14:53
Slade Slade is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Slade is on a distinguished road

Silver is working


Thanks for that link! It's working now except for one thing.. The link had another link that was actually a saved game of Silver to get past the Oracle bug.. (the game freezes at a point in the game when the main character meets "the Oracle"). I've tried to use the saved game of Silver only to find that it's a UK version saved game file. Does anyone have a link to the US version?
  #7  
Old 07-Oct-2005, 02:03
lobo80 lobo80 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
lobo80 is on a distinguished road

Re: Infogrames; Silver


@ pcxgamer : the link is broken!
  #8  
Old 15-Dec-2005, 19:12
Godfish Godfish is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
Godfish is on a distinguished road

Re: Infogrames; Silver


This worked for me:

Download Microsoft Virtual PC microsoft.com/windows/virtualpc/default.mspx

It's free for 45 days and isn't really expensive. It's a little like an emulator but a lot not. All you need to do is install it then set up a new "virtual machine" onto this virtual machine put Windows 95 98 or god forbid it Windows ME...

Once you have set up and installed the pc install Silver onto the "virtual PC" (you won't need drivers etc. for your devices on the "virtual pc" it will just work =$). This way you can load your normal Windows XP/2k or what ever and you don't need to re-partition your drive and have a 2 OS on it to get complete backwards compatibility for anything, your new OS will run in a window and you can even have several machines for different things.

So yes get virtual PC and see if you can get a hold of a backdated Windows CD and you will be laughing. This requires knowledge of installing older Windows operating systems but to be honest its pretty self explanatory.
  #9  
Old 13-Apr-2006, 05:10
Joakjenn21 Joakjenn21 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Joakjenn21 is on a distinguished road

Re: Infogrames; Silver


I really want to get that link! I have pulled my hair for 2 months with this game, it is the best game I have ever played and really want to play it again. Can someone please help me?
  #10  
Old 07-May-2006, 15:50
Moijn0001 Moijn0001 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Moijn0001 is on a distinguished road

Re: Infogrames; Silver


First of all, excuse my bad English, I'm from Sweden

I've solved the problem by finding an old Windows 98 computer and that works, of course. Best alternative for us who don't want a lot of problems. I have the UK version of the game so I won't be much help to 'Slade' but if any of you others want to get past the oraclebug (which I haven't experienced) I could send you a SAVEFILE from just after.
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting Silver to run on XP Fire Computer Software Forum - Games 4 13-Feb-2006 00:17
Need help getting Silver to run? Nzo Computer Software Forum - Games 1 04-Mar-2004 17:05

Network Sites: GIDNetwork · GIDApp · GIDBlog · Learning Journal by J de Silva, The

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 22:35.


vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.