GIDForums  

Go Back   GIDForums > Web Promotion Forums > Advertising & Affiliates Forum
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 26-Mar-2003, 10:26
JdS's Avatar
JdS JdS is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: KUL, Malaysia
Posts: 3,371
JdS will become famous soon enough

What (or who) is Mediapartners-Google/2.1?


All of a sudden I found a few logs like this:

Code:
6937. 64.68.87.41 25/Mar/2003 13:02:20 /php/phpinfo.html Mediapartners-Google/2.1 (+http://www.googlebot.com/bot.html)

I thought it was some kinda joke... but it seems to be the real thing.

I found some information about this 'bot' elsewhere but details are sketchy and too few...

Apparently it's a bot that visits your website / pages when you are serving Google's Contextual Text Links (via Ad Networks like BurstMedia and such). Sure enough, I checked my account at BurstMedia and found one such campaign - though it doesn't say Google anywhere inside the campaign details itself... but the links go through:
Code:
http://pagead.googlesyndication.com/

Appreciate any information on this 'bot' and what it's supposed to be doing if anyone has some.
  #2  
Old 26-Mar-2003, 12:01
jrobbio's Avatar
jrobbio jrobbio is offline
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Loughborough, England
Posts: 840
jrobbio will become famous soon enough
I think it is supposed to be checking that the site has the correct content for the ad as it is supposed to be relevant. Since sites/pages may change in content this may be a way to keep it on course.

I'm not sure what this page is for, but http://www.iplists.com/google.txt have a gander anyway.

You are right though, the information is sketchy to say the least.
  #3  
Old 29-Jun-2003, 16:07
jrobbio's Avatar
jrobbio jrobbio is offline
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Loughborough, England
Posts: 840
jrobbio will become famous soon enough
For those that don't know, this is the bot that appears with the adsense program too.

Rob
  #4  
Old 21-Feb-2007, 03:24
Exevior Exevior is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Exevior is on a distinguished road
Exclamation

Re: What (or who) is Mediapartners-Google/2.1?


Hi All,

You might wanna take a look at this. I harvested this one from the latest visitors on my CPanel.

Host: 66.249.66.207
*


/cgi-bin/reviews.cgi?id=166101&cid=922
Http Code: 200 Date: Feb 21 03:43:59 Http Version: HTTP/1.1 Size in Bytes: 7016
Referer: -
Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; Googlebot/2.1; +www.google.com)





*


/cgi-bin/search2.cgi?keywords=winning+poker&cat_search=
Http Code: 200 Date: Feb 21 03:45:31 Http Version: HTTP/1.1 Size in Bytes: 288
Referer: -
Agent: Mediapartners-Google/2.1





*


/cgi-bin/search2.cgi?keywords=winning
Http Code: 200 Date: Feb 21 03:45:32 Http Version: HTTP/1.1 Size in Bytes: 282
Referer: -
Agent: Mediapartners-Google/2.1





*


/cgi-bin/search2.cgi?keywords=winning&cat_search=
Http Code: 200 Date: Feb 21 03:45:33 Http Version: HTTP/1.1 Size in Bytes: 30744
Referer: -
Agent: Mediapartners-Google/2.1





*


/cgi-bin/search2.cgi?keywords=poker&cat_search=
Http Code: 200 Date: Feb 21 03:45:55 Http Version: HTTP/1.1 Size in Bytes: 27775
Referer: -
Agent: Mediapartners-Google/2.1





*


/cgi-bin/search2.cgi?keywords=beyond+driving+lessons&cat_se arch=
Http Code: 200 Date: Feb 21 03:46:07 Http Version: HTTP/1.1 Size in Bytes: 297
Referer: -
Agent: Mediapartners-Google/2.1





*


/cgi-bin/search2.cgi?keywords=beyond
Http Code: 200 Date: Feb 21 03:46:08 Http Version: HTTP/1.1 Size in Bytes: 8134
Referer: -
Agent: Mediapartners-Google/2.1





*


/cgi-bin/rateit.cgi?id=191351&cid=1002
Http Code: 200 Date: Feb 21 03:46:23 Http Version: HTTP/1.1 Size in Bytes: 6043
Referer: -
Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; Googlebot/2.1; +www.google.com)




As you can see, it came from the same IP as GoogleBot did, and performed searches on my Website.

Those search engine strings, cannot be found anywhere as links, and there is no way a Bot could perform them, or find them anywhere as links to follow.

Those strings come from filling up the search box on my site and clicking search.

So, the above signs, show that this bot might be manually handled or given manual links to follow in order to obtain information for something. Perhaps they are checking new technologies, new pages or even new partnerships.

Regarding the previous post, rationally enough, i have Adsense ads on my search pages, so maybe that is where the Bot finds these strings, eventhough it is against their terms and conditions to gather information using the adsense code.#


Let me know your thoughts on the above.

Exevior.com
 
 

Recent GIDBlogVista ?Widgets? on Windows XP by LocalTech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Network Sites: GIDNetwork · GIDWebHosts · GIDSearch · Learning Journal by J de Silva, The

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 13:44.


vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.