GIDForums  

Go Back   GIDForums > Computer Forums > Computer Software Forum - Linux
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 9 votes, 5.00 average.
  #61  
Old 24-May-2005, 11:17
Chriskcl Chriskcl is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Chriskcl is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsmith
Hi Chris and welcome to GIDForums™.

The basic answer to your question is no. You could try to do an insmod, but it is the same command basically.

Is your computer 100% frozen? The reason I ask is that am messing around with one right now, that when I do a modprobe, it seriously slows down the computer but I am able to still look at things. If at all possible, can you get a dmesg typed in? This will give you some information as to what is going wrong.

Are you running on 32-bit? Also, what card do you have exactly?

Hi and thanks for the quick response. Basically the computer 100% freezes about half a second after i type the modprobe command. I could possibly get dmesg typed in by using a script.

The card i am using is a Belkin 802.11g Wireless Desktop Card. I think I am running on 32 bit will check when i get home.

I have partitioned my harddrive so as to run Windows and Linux and on the windows partition the Belkin card works really well so i think the card itself is fine. There could be some problems with my SUSE instalation as i have a few other bugs that i am also trying to iron out (mainly problems with display resolution).

Thanks,

Chris
  #62  
Old 29-May-2005, 19:17
CdnStrangequark CdnStrangequark is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 1
CdnStrangequark is on a distinguished road
Unhappy

Help?


So I have thoroughly read this forum and tried what I can think of that applies and still can't get it to work.

I'm using SuSE 9.2 on a Compaq R3440CA which has the Broadcom 9306 chip, just like so many others it seems.

So my first problem was the same as for Masum and crystalattice, I got that annoying "can't find kernel sources" error. I never did figure out how to get that to work, but after CL posted that thing from the SuSE site, I thought I'd just use Yast to install it. So I did. And it *seems* to have worked.

So then I did ndiswrapper -i bcmwl5.inf and it *seemed* to work. But running ndiswrapper -l tells me this:

Installed ndis drivers:
bcmwl5 hardware present

So it sort of looks like I have the opposite problem to robby. Anyways, I tried to run modprobe ndiswrapper regardless, but it dies instantly saying:

FATAL: module ndiswrapper not found.

This strikes me as a rather odd error, given that I just finished using ndiswrapper. I tried typing ndiswrapper -m first, but that made no difference to modprobe's problem.

Any suggestion would be much appreciated...thanks in advance.
  #63  
Old 19-Jun-2005, 04:55
crystalattice's Avatar
crystalattice crystalattice is offline
Aspiring author
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Japan (again)
Posts: 1,671
crystalattice is just really nicecrystalattice is just really nicecrystalattice is just really nicecrystalattice is just really nicecrystalattice is just really nice
One thing I found on the ndiswrapper site (don't remember where exactly) is that some of the errors are not related to the actual program but are compile errors. They can be fixed by either recompiling the kernel or the ndiswrapper source, so it might be something to consider.
__________________
Start Programming with Python-A beginner's guide to programming and the Python language.

Interested in pen & paper role playing games from the "golden age" of gaming? Visit Old School Role-Playing Games
  #64  
Old 07-Jul-2005, 15:39
SanQ SanQ is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
SanQ is on a distinguished road
Im having a similar problem trying to get either DWL-122 or WMP11 to work

Im running
2.6.12-1.1387_FC4smp
ndiswrapper-1.2

All this is done under root

when i do
Code:
modprobe ndiswrapper FATAL: Module ndiswrapper not found.

This is what the other commands show

Shows that the driver is present and so is the hardware
Code:
ndiswrapper -l Installed ndis drivers: netprism driver present, hardware present

The alias has been added
Code:
ndiswrapper -m modprobe config already contains alias directive

Doesn't show anything so i take that it is present, the other dhcpcd is a command that is not pressent.
Code:
dhclient wlan0

Code:
iwconfig lo no wireless extensions eth0 no wireless extensions sit0 no wireless extensions

Code:
[root@HomePC ndiswrapper-1.2]# make make -C driver make[1]: Entering directory `/root/ndiswrapper-1.2/driver' Can't find kernel sources in /lib/modules/2.6.12-1.1387_FC4smp/build; give the path to kernel sources with KSRC=<path> argument to make make[1]: *** [prereq_check] Error 1 make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/ndiswrapper-1.2/driver' make: *** [all] Error 2

make install gives the same error but with
Code:
make: ***[install] Error 2
as the last line

im new to linux and i've read other forums where one person posted that the copied the ndiswrapper.ko into /lib/kernel or something like that to get it to work. That was nice but i did a whereis ndiswrapper.ko and came up empty. I did not find a file with a .ko extension or anything. Any have a clue.
  #65  
Old 08-Jul-2005, 06:20
SanQ SanQ is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
SanQ is on a distinguished road
Well gave up on ndiswrapper and tried wlan-ng again. I downloaded my kernel-2.xxxxxx.src.rpm. I ran the rpm and it compiled it. untar the latest released.

Code:
[root@wlan-ng-0.2.1-pre26]#make configure
answered some questions as guide said. Since im using DWL-122 i answered yes to [_cs] and _usb and no to the others.

It then asks if [/lib/.....]: i hit enter and this is the source for kernel. It use to fail before here saying kernel module or something similar missing or incomplete. The link to use to say the same. After it was recompiled it was fine. I just hit enter for the other questions as they are set to the default values.

next command.
Code:
[root@wlan-ng-0.2.1-pre26]#make all
It generates a large log and if everthing works fine there will be no errors.

Code:
[root@wlan-ng-0.2.1-pre26]#make install
Same as above no questions i believe and the wlanctl-ng module is now installed in the computer.

The next steps required some long typing but after this i found that some1 had created a script with the same commands in it and added WEP functionality to it. He also states in the script that
Code:
iwconfig
will not show WEP enable even thou it is. Also in the network hardware the DWL-122 is not listed. My lan one is and its inactive but i still can go online. It seems that wlan-ng uses its own rutines.

The three wlanctl-ng wlan0 xxxxxxxxxx comands is one to initialize the hardware, and the other two to set the ssid and activate it.

then
Code:
ifconfig <ip address of gateway> netmask <255.255.255.0>
after this last step when
Code:
iwconfig
is ran the wlan0 will show the router info and you can go online. There is a config file that has most of this info and you can set for wlan0 to go active on boot but i left it alone for now since its working.
  #66  
Old 08-Jul-2005, 08:23
SanQ SanQ is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
SanQ is on a distinguished road
[quote=SanQ]Well gave up on ndiswrapper and tried wlan-ng again. I downloaded my kernel-2.xxxxxx.src.rpm. I ran the rpm and it compiled it. untar the latest released.

Code:
[root@wlan-ng-0.2.1-pre26]#make configure
answered some questions as guide said. Since im using DWL-122 i answered yes to [_cs] and _usb and no to the others.

It then asks if [/lib/.....]: i hit enter and this is the source for kernel. It use to fail before here saying kernel module or something similar missing or incomplete. The link to use to say the same. After it was recompiled it was fine. I just hit enter for the other questions as they are set to the default values.

next command.
Code:
[root@wlan-ng-0.2.1-pre26]#make all
It generates a large log and if everthing works fine there will be no errors.

Code:
[root@wlan-ng-0.2.1-pre26]#make install
Same as above no questions i believe and the wlanctl-ng module is now installed in the computer.

Here is the script to run as
Code:
sh wlansetup.sh

Code:
#!/bin/bash #----------------------------- README --------------------------------------------------------------------- #----------------LINUX-WLAN-NG-INSTALLATION----------------------------------------------- # This script was in no way writen by me and i don't remember where i optained it # To who ever wrote this i give them full credit as alot of hard work went into it. # I only made modifications in placing WEP in comments since mines is not active. # Those who use WEP feel free to uncoment the WEP section # I added the lines of code needed to initialy my usb prism2 divice # Please modify to load your divice into memory and also the IP address section # A very special THANK YOU to the unix community for their hard work and dedication # and those that write scripts like this. Thank you. # Above, the shebang. Like /bin/sh is a symlink to /bin/bash, # we can undifferently use sh or bash. Everyone can choose... # used version: linux-wlan-ng-0.2.1-pre26 # Kernel-2.6.12.1.1387_FC4smp-i686 # Modification of the path, because I don't want to write /sbin # in the beginning of all the commands everytime ;-) PATH=/sbin:$PATH # In case of freeze, you can use prism2_doreset=0 # Not sure, but i think there is no more bug about this old(now) problem... #-------------------------- WEP SETTINGS ----------------------------------- #wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_hostwep decrypt=true encrypt=true # the valid is the first generated 0 i this case # (else 1 for the second one, 2 for the third and 3 for the forth one) #wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKeyID=0 # Obtain with the "a little dark" documentation #wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11ExcludeUnencrypted=true #wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11PrivacyInvoked=true # IMPORTANT : the key, in hexa, is wroten with " : " separating digits 2 by 2 # of course, this key doesn't exist ... ;-) # wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKey0="88:99:AA:BB:CC:DD:EE:FF:11:22:33:44:55" # unused, only here for documentation #wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKey1=<second Key> #wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKey1=<third Key> #wlanctl-ng wlan0 dot11req_mibset mibattribute=dot11WEPDefaultKey1=<fourth key> # I've searched a long time with opensystem, managed ad-hoc. Falling "in work" # with sharedkey # NB : the synopsis is given in wlanctl-ng doc # do wlanctl-ng commands if you want to know more... #--------------------END WEP SETTINGS ------------------------------------------- #---------------------- INITIAL SETUP OF WLAN0 ------------------------------------------ #------------------------- USB PRISM2 DEVICE ---------------------------------------- modprobe prism2_usb prism2_doreset=1 # Loads to memory #--------------------------END USB PRISM2 DEVICE -------------------------------- wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_ifstate ifstate=enable # Initializes the Wlan0 device wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_autojoin "ssid=linksys" authtype="opensystem" # Sets your SSID and type Shared,Open and so forth # It works. Now, IP address attribution # for the 192.168.0.0 network here ifconfig wlan0 192.168.0.103 netmask 255.255.255.0 # This is your assined IP Address by the router # If you have access to your router either through another computer or through the lan see what your IP is. # the default key (completely wrong, given as example) # for a 192.168.0.0 network # IMPORTANT if you have done all other steps and have not done this one, you still wont have Internet access # I found out the hard way how important this step really is route add default gw 192.168.0.1 # My internet gateway address # This is your routers IP address if its set up to be in Gateway mode or it can be your IP address given by your ISP #-------------------------- END SETUP OF WLAN0 ---------------------------------------------------- # end of wlan.sh
  #67  
Old 16-Jul-2005, 05:53
soaked soaked is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1
soaked is on a distinguished road

Card not in lspci


I have the Belkin F5D7000uk card.

It's plugged into a VIA PA2013 motherboard that supports 32-bit PCI up to v2.1

I'm a complete newbie to Linux but have managed to install FC4 AND build the ndiswrapper (v1.2).

But it won't work, because the card isn't getting found.

I ran an lspci, it's not there, nothing about it in lsmod either.

What would be the parameter I needed to use modprobe for it? Would that even help? How do I get the computer to recognise this card?
  #68  
Old 24-Aug-2005, 17:40
Oxygen Oxygen is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Oxygen is on a distinguished road
Yeah, I have a problem,

I get this error when trying to install the drivers through ndiswrapper

Quote:
DARKSIDE:~ # ndiswrapper -i /etc/belkinF5D7001/BMCWL5.inf
Installing bmcwl5
cp: cannot stat `/etc/belkinF5D7001/BMCWL5.inf': No such file or directory
DARKSIDE:~ # ndiswrapper -l
Installed ndis drivers:
bmcwl5 invalid driver!

Some mates of mine say thats because my .inf file dosn't work, what .inf file do you use? The one I got was from the drivers CD which came with the wireless package, mabe the US version is different?
  #69  
Old 31-Jan-2006, 08:59
USA1 USA1 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
USA1 is on a distinguished road

HELP Belkin Wireless card


Hello,

This far this has been the most clear and straightforward explanation of how to use wrap the windows files. The problem I have is the windows CD driver for the card does not contain a *.inf file, it has one setup.exe and other *.sys files.

I tried all the files but they don't install.

How do I get the *.inf files?

Thanks,
Manny
  #70  
Old 03-Feb-2006, 02:42
crystalattice's Avatar
crystalattice crystalattice is offline
Aspiring author
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Japan (again)
Posts: 1,671
crystalattice is just really nicecrystalattice is just really nicecrystalattice is just really nicecrystalattice is just really nicecrystalattice is just really nice

Re: HELP Belkin Wireless card


Try going to the card's manufacturer and downloading the driver. At a minimum the web site should tell you what you need to do to get it working in Linux. If not, email their tech support and ask them if it's supported under Linux. Most likely it's not (directly) but they can at least tell you where to find the .inf file.
__________________
Start Programming with Python-A beginner's guide to programming and the Python language.

Interested in pen & paper role playing games from the "golden age" of gaming? Visit Old School Role-Playing Games
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless G Desktop Card Robo Computer Software Forum - Linux 3 04-Oct-2006 07:49
Wireless Card Not Finding Networks sublime12 Computer Hardware Forum 3 16-Sep-2006 20:01
[HOWTO]Belkin 54G Wireless card in linux FC5 (Broadcom chip) alaa Computer Software Forum - Linux 1 10-Sep-2006 19:36
Which type of wireless ethernet card do you recommend? Nickster64 Computer Hardware Forum 2 29-Apr-2006 22:10
Need Help with my Cards Program (C++) krisopotamus C++ Forum 2 06-Oct-2005 16:48

Network Sites: GIDNetwork · GIDApp · GIDBlog · Learning Journal by J de Silva, The

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 18:17.


vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.