GIDForums  

Go Back   GIDForums > Web Hosting Forums > Apache Web Server Forum
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 03-Mar-2004, 03:46
PenguinJr PenguinJr is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19
PenguinJr is on a distinguished road

How do I make my server available to the public internet?


Hi guys,

I've installed my apache, and it works fine when I access it either through http://localhost or through http://myIP:80 .
but when I tell my friends to access http://myIP:80 it doesnt work?

Any idea why? or maybe I forgot to configure a critical section?

Thanx in advance
  #2  
Old 03-Mar-2004, 04:47
Allowee's Avatar
Allowee Allowee is offline
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 339
Allowee has a spectacular aura about
I think you forgot a firewall blocking port 80 or a router not setup for port 80.

do you use a router and what OS do you use?
__________________
Pastebin
PHP Documentation Site
Allowee's Blog http://allowee.net
  #3  
Old 03-Mar-2004, 05:40
PenguinJr PenguinJr is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19
PenguinJr is on a distinguished road

No firewall, no router


Nope I'm not using any firewall, no router.

I'm using Windows XP Pro. If your talking about the firewall in network connections' properties, I dont have it on.

Any idea ?! >.<
  #4  
Old 03-Mar-2004, 07:55
dsmith's Avatar
dsmith dsmith is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 1,351
dsmith is a glorious beacon of lightdsmith is a glorious beacon of lightdsmith is a glorious beacon of lightdsmith is a glorious beacon of lightdsmith is a glorious beacon of light
This may be a silly question, but is your IP address a dedicated public address that has been routed by your ISP?
  #5  
Old 03-Mar-2004, 15:49
PenguinJr PenguinJr is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19
PenguinJr is on a distinguished road
um... how do I check that?
Isnt that automatic?
  #6  
Old 03-Mar-2004, 15:54
dsmith's Avatar
dsmith dsmith is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 1,351
dsmith is a glorious beacon of lightdsmith is a glorious beacon of lightdsmith is a glorious beacon of lightdsmith is a glorious beacon of lightdsmith is a glorious beacon of light
Quote:
Originally Posted by PenguinJr
um... how do I check that?
Isnt that automatic?

Not especially. Have you registered a domain name? And how do you connect to the internet? Alot of ISP's will use DHCP to give out addresses unless you specifally request a static address. (They sometimes charge more for this as well.)

When you type in ipconfig /all in a console window are you getting an address that starts with 10.0 or 192.168.? These are private non-routable addresses.
  #7  
Old 03-Mar-2004, 17:26
PenguinJr PenguinJr is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19
PenguinJr is on a distinguished road
No I dont have a domain name... thats not necessary right?
And i do have a static ip address...

BTW, i've made a progress.. now ppl get a different error msg when they try to access my ip through http://myIPaddress:443

Bad request!
Your browser (or proxy) sent a request that this server could not understand.

If you think this is a server error, please contact the webmaster.

Error 400
localhost
3/4/2004 11:24:58 AM
Apache/2.0.48 (Win32) mod_perl/1.99_12 Perl/v5.8.2 mod_ssl/2.0.48 OpenSSL/0.9.7c PHP/4.3.4

Any idea?
  #8  
Old 03-Mar-2004, 20:11
dsmith's Avatar
dsmith dsmith is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 1,351
dsmith is a glorious beacon of lightdsmith is a glorious beacon of lightdsmith is a glorious beacon of lightdsmith is a glorious beacon of lightdsmith is a glorious beacon of light
No, a domain name is not absolutely necessary, it just makes it easier to get to your site

Anyway, how are you hooked up to the internet? You are not going through a router to share a connection are you?

And you are sure that your IP address of your windows machine is public (not private)?
  #9  
Old 03-Mar-2004, 22:58
PenguinJr PenguinJr is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19
PenguinJr is on a distinguished road
Woohooo!!!
I found what the problem is.

I called my ISP this morning and they told me that they blocked port 80 to prevent users from running a web server (odd how they told me this). So I changed it to port 90 ... its weird how port 443 doesnt work though...

BTW I am sharing my connection, but I'm the server =). so the router is for the other computers. What do I have to do if my connection is re-directed by the router anyway?
  #10  
Old 04-Mar-2004, 06:51
Allowee's Avatar
Allowee Allowee is offline
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 339
Allowee has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by PenguinJr
I called my ISP this morning and they told me that they blocked port 80 to prevent users from running a web server

Maybe you should not run this server on port 90.

they block port 80 to prevent users from running a webserver, they don't do that for fun.

But YOU are the user and I'm sure you know what you do.
__________________
Pastebin
PHP Documentation Site
Allowee's Blog http://allowee.net
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Make my computer available online? PenguinJr Apache Web Server Forum 3 02-Feb-2004 07:19
· Windows 2003 Server Reseller Special: Unlimited Domains/2 GB Space/for $19.99 contactsonia Web Hosting Advertisements & Offers 0 09-Jan-2004 05:46
my server isn't public either???? momaley Apache Web Server Forum 2 19-Dec-2003 10:25
my server isn't public ??? brian pumper Apache Web Server Forum 2 16-Dec-2003 02:28
Internet Explorer is not a browser and is considered harmful jrobbio Computer Software Forum - Windows 6 12-Oct-2003 10:29

Network Sites: GIDNetwork · GIDApp · GIDBlog · Learning Journal by J de Silva, The

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 23:28.


vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.