![]() |
|
#1
|
||||
|
||||
I am getting STRANGE emails / feedback today!I really don't know whether to laugh or cry about this!
In the last 12hours or so, I have received 2 emails through the feedback form that goes like this: Quote:
Quote:
What is happening??? __________________
J de Silva Learning Journal | GIDForums™ | GIDNetwork™ | GIDWebhosts™ | GIDSearch™ |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
Sounds like they've had their browser hijacked by some spyware in Kazaa and its being activated on your pages maybe because of some of the companies that you advertise with on your page.
I've had a look around and actually I think its something to do with MSN messenger popups that people don't know how to deactivate. I'm not sure if something triggers it off on your site, but I've noticed that certain sites seem to cause an increase of them although I've disabled them now. All they need is their IP to do it. Rob |
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
|
I am certain this HAS NOTHING to do with this website; otherwise you and I would be the first 2 people to notice it!
I DON'T DO MSN Messenger! I DON'T DO Kazaa or whatever it's called! So I am not seeing this, browsing through my site or anywhere else for that matter. BTW, this Kazaa; it's something to do with file-swapping and some such? __________________
J de Silva Learning Journal | GIDForums™ | GIDNetwork™ | GIDWebhosts™ | GIDSearch™ |
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
I know you don't do MSN messenger, but there is a massive gaping hole in it that allows from popups to appear. Its very easy to uninstall and this is the thing I'm talking about here: http://www.desilva.biz/forum/viewtopic876.php
I think its a coincidence that they appeared with your site as they don't appear in a browser window or anything. For more info see: http://www.annoyances.org/exec/show/article03-300 This has been going on since May so unless they've suddenly changed their tactics and are trying to leach peoples IP's then I don't know. EDIT: Kazaa is a peer-to-peer sharing software, which is associated with lots of illegal going ons although it is a very useful ap when your using it legitimately. Basically, the original version is ridden with spyware, which is why most people have wised up to the fact there is a Kazaa Lite. They are just basically selling info on people so others try and block it. A good scrub of Spyware search and destroy http://spybot.eon.net.au/ is a good way to check that you are not infected with anything. Rob |
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
Well, I took a look at that page: http://www.gidforums.com/t-876.html
Then I went through the AdSense advertisers for that particular page, I added a filter in my AdSense account for the affiliate-type link ( hop.clickbank.net advertising for panicware.com or some such ) and I sent a note off to Google AdSense about this. __________________
J de Silva Learning Journal | GIDForums™ | GIDNetwork™ | GIDWebhosts™ | GIDSearch™ |
Recent GIDBlog
A Week in Kuwait by crystalattice
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Rate This Thread | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Temporary disruptions to GIDForums earlier today.. | JdS | GIDForums™ | 0 | 28-Apr-2003 16:21 |
Network Sites: GIDNetwork · GIDWebHosts · GIDSearch · Learning Journal by J de Silva, The